Honouring our Community Volunteers - Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2022

Honouring our Community Volunteers - Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2022

The Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council Councillor Michael Clarke has announced details of the Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2022.

Councillor Clarke said

‘We all know special people who have given special service to their community, and the Awards Scheme provides an opportunity to publicly honour them for their efforts. The award categories encompass a wide area of voluntary activity, and I am asking people to take the time to submit a nomination form for a person or group they hold in special regard.’

It is encouraging to see so many people giving selflessly of their time and energy for their community, and as a society we should never take this for granted. It is important that we honour and applaud our many dedicated volunteers.’

Awards are presented in the following categories:

  • Arts & Culture
  • Community (Group)
  • Community (individual)
  • Environment and Heritage
  • Schools (group/class)
  • Spirit of Sligo Award
  • Sports
  • Young Enterprise

The nomination form can be completed at the link below, or can be obtained by phoning Sligo County Council at 071 911 1111 or by email to corporate@sligococo.ie

Joining the Cathaoirleach on the Awards Committee are: Cllr Declan Bree, Cllr Marie Casserly, Cllr Arthur Gibbons, Cllr Gino O Boyle, Cllr Rosaleen O’Grady, Cllr Joe Queenan, Cllr Thomas Walsh.

The closing date for nominations is Friday 18th November

Complete the Cathaoirleach's Awards 2022 Nomination Form