Minutes 2016

Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Sligo County Council held on Monday, 20th June 2016 at 3.30pm in The Council Chamber, County Hall, Riverside, Sligo.


  • Councillor Baker,
  • Councillor Casserly,
  • Councillor Clarke,
  • Councillor Gormley,
  • Councillor Healy,
  • Councillor Henry,
  • Councillor Keaney,
  • Councillor Kilgannon,  
  • Councillor Maguire,  
  • Councillor MacManus,
  • Councillor MacSharry,
  • Councillor Mulvey,
  • Councillor O’Boyle,
  • Councillor O’Grady,
  • Councillor Queenan,
  • Councillor Taylor.



Apologies were received from Councillor D. Bree and Councillor J. Lundy.



  • Mr Ciarán Hayes, Chief Executive
  • Ms Dorothy Clarke, Director of Services
  • Ms Patricia Guckian, Acting Head of Finance
  • Mr John Moran, Senior Executive Officer
  • Mr Jimmy O’Brien, I.S. Project Leader
  • Mr Kevin Colreavy, Meetings Administrator
  • Ms Jo-Anne McGonigle, Assistant Staff Officer



Cathaoirleach, Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady, welcomed Members, Staff and visitors to the Chamber for the Annual General Meeting.

The Cathaoirleach asked that there would be a minute’s silence as a tribute to the late Jo Cox, M.P. who had been killed outside her Clinic in Yorkshire, England.  Ms. Cox had been described as a “21st Century Good Samaritan”.  Her husband and children were remembered by Councillor O’Grady and those present on what was described as a huge departure in society and the Cathaoirleach said it was important that this would be recognised.



Councillor O’Grady thanked the elected Members, the Chief Executive, Directors of Services and staff for their support, guidance and counsel throughout her year as Cathaoirleach.  In particular, tributes were paid to those involved in the 2016 Centenary celebrations at national level and the Steering Group and Library Staff at local level.  Councillor O’Grady said she was privileged to have been involved in many events and initiatives, and was fortunate to host receptions to honour many deserving individuals and groups in County Hall.

The Members paid tribute to Councillor O’Grady on her term as Cathaoirleach, thanked her for the way in which she conducted the meetings in a fair and even handed manner.

The Chief Executive, on his own behalf and on behalf of the Executive, joined with the comments of congratulations and thanks to the outgoing Cathaoirleach.  Mr. Hayes noted that it had been a significant year and in terms of representing Sligo, it could not have been done better.  He said that Councillor O’Grady had represented Sligo at home and abroad and he was very taken at the manner of that representation. 

Mr. Hayes extended his best wishes and thanks to the outgoing Cathaoirleach.



Proposed by Councillor D. Mulvey
Seconded by Councillor S. Maguire

“To elect Councillor Hubert Keaney as Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.”

As there was only one nomination for the position of Cathaoirleach, Councillor O’Grady declared Councillor Hubert Keaney elected as Cathaoirleach.

Councillor Keaney took the Chair and welcomed his family and guests to the Chamber.  The Cathaoirleach also remembered his late father, John, who had died in September 2015. 

The Cathaoirleach outlined his proposals for the year ahead.  He said he was aware that the approval of the Financial Plan in 2015 has presented many difficulties for the Council, e.g. reduction in staff presents challenges into the future.  This county cannot continue to be ignored by central Government and for Sligo to develop there needs to be a major capital investment in infrastructure.  Other areas highlighted by the Cathaoirleach included the tourism potential of the county, Development Plans, economic development and job creation, support of local, small businesses by the 25,000 households in Sligo.  It is his opinion that Sligo can be a place of economic sustainability.  In summing up, the Cathaoirleach advised the meeting that he will work to the best of his ability to achieve something good.

Members wished the Cathaoirleach every success in his year ahead in representing Sligo at local, national and international level.  They also wished to congratulate the Keaney family on this special day for them all. 

The Chief Executive, Mr. Hayes, wished to join with the Members in their congratulations noting that it is an honour and a privilege to be elected as first citizen.  Mr. Hayes welcomed the Keaney family on one of the good days when they got to share in this kind of elevation to the post.  The Chief Executive also acknowledged that it was appropriate to remember the late John Keaney and agreed he would also have been very proud. 

Mr. Hayes noted that a number of important issues had been identified in the opening address.  Notwithstanding the finances, the Council had achieved a lot in recent years.  The Chief Executive then assured the incoming Cathaoirleach of the support of the Executive and extended his congratulations to Councillor Keaney.

The Cathaoirleach then indicated that he would deal with the election of a Leas-Cathaoirleach.



Proposed by Councillor R. O’Grady
Seconded by Councillor
S. Kilgannon

“To elect Councillor Tom MacSharry as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.”

It was also;

Proposed by Councillor M. Clarke
Seconded by Councillor S. MacManus

“To elect Councillor Marie Casserly as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.”

As there were 2 nominees for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach, Councillor Keaney called for a vote.

For Councillor MacSharry: Councillor Baker, Councillor Henry, Councillor Keaney, Councillor Kilgannon, Councillor Maguire, Councillor Mac Sharry, Councillor Mulvey, Councillor O’Boyle, Councillor O’Grady, Councillor Queenan and Councillor Taylor (11)

For Councillor Casserly: Councillor Casserly, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Gormley, Councillor Healy and Councillor MacManus (5)

Absent: Councillor Bree and Councillor Lundy.

As the vote was 11 for Councillor MacSharry and 5 for Councillor Casserly, Councillor MacSharry was elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach.


Cathaoirleach, Councillor Keaney, congratulated Mayor Councillor Casserly and Cathaoirleach of the Ballymote-Tobercurry Municipal District, Councillor Mulvey.



The meeting concluded at 4.35pm


Download Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 20th June 2016 (PDF) - 34 kbs  







Meeting Date 20/06/2016