Cllr Casserly elected Chair

Councillor Casserly elected Chair of Sligo-Drumcliff Area

Councillor Casserly elected Chair of Sligo-Drumcliff Area Councillor Marie Casserly, Chair Sligo-Drumcliff Municipal District

Councillor Marie Casserly has been elected Chair of Sligo-Drumcliff Municipal District at the Annual General Meeting held on Monday 28th June.

Councillor Casserly’s nomination was proposed by Councillor Fox, and jointly seconded by Councillors Gilroy and Walsh, and unanimously agreed.  Councillor Fox was unanimously elected Leas Cathaoirleach.

In her address, Councillor Casserly committed to working tirelessly for the Sligo-Drumcliff area and the wider community, and hoped to see the development of Sligo as a prime tourist destination on the Wild Atlantic Way, and to promote the area as a prime remote working hub.  Among the other projects she hoped to see progressed over the course of her term were Sligo Garda Station, works at Teeling Monument and Innismurray Island.  Councillor Casserly concluded her address by stating that

‘communities working together for the general good will lead to a bright and sustainable future.’


Chair and Members Front Row: Cathaoirleach Councillor Marie Casserly and Leas Cathaoirleach Councillor Tom Fox Back Row: Councillor Thomas Walsh, Councillor Dónal Gilroy and Councillor Thomas Healy