## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

- Councillor Baker,
- Councillor Bree,
- Councillor Casserly,
- Councillor Clarke,
- Councillor Gormley,
- Councillor Keaney,
- Councillor Kilgannon,
- Councillor Lundy,
- Councillor Maguire,
- Councillor MacManus,
- Councillor MacSharry,
- Councillor Mulvey,
- Councillor O'Boyle,
- Councillor Queenan,
- Councillor Taylor.

# **OFFICIALS IN ATTENDANCE:**

- Mr. Tom Kilfeather, Deputy Chief Executive
- Mr. Donal Tinney, County Librarian
- Mr. John Moran, Senior Executive Officer
- Ms. Patricia Guckian, A/Head of Finance
- Mr. Kevin Colreavy, Meetings Administrator
- Ms. Dolores McDonagh, Senior Staff Officer
- Ms. Jo-Anne McGonigle, Assistant Staff Officer

# CATHAOIRLEACH:

The Leas-Cathaoirleach, Councillor P. Taylor, presided.

## **APOLOGIES**:

Apologies were received from Councillor T. Healy and Councillor R. O'Grady.

# FILLING OF CASUAL VACANCY ARISING FROM ELECTION OF EAMON SCANLON TO DÁIL ÉIREANN:

Councillor Taylor, Leas-Cathaoirleach, welcomed Keith Henry and his family and friends to the meeting, including Keith's parents, Mary and Thomas, his grandparents Bea Henry and Mary and Padraig Finn and his uncle Thomas. He offered his congratulations to Eamon Scanlon on his election to Dáil Éireann, and also to the other new T.D.s for the constituency - Marc MacSharry, Tony McLoughlin and Martin Kenny.

#### MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF SLIGO COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY, 14TH MARCH, 2016 AT 11.00 A.M. IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RIVERSIDE, SLIGO

Mr. K. Colreavy, Meetings Administrator, advised the Meeting that, in accordance with Section 19 (3) of the Local Government Act, 2001, the Fianna Fáil Party had nominated Mr Keith Henry, Harristown, Killavil, Ballymote, to fill the vacancy on Sligo County Council created by the election of Eamon Scanlon to Dáil Éireann. Written confirmation had also been received from Mr Henry consenting to his proposed co-option.

### It was proposed by Councillor M. Baker Seconded by Councillor J. Lundy

## AND AGREED

"That Mr. Keith Henry fills the casual vacancy arising from the Election of Eamon Scanlon to Dáil Éireann".

The Leas-Cathaoirleach then invited Councillor Henry to assume his seat.

Members extended their congratulations and their support to Councillor Henry in his new role.

Mr. T. Kilfeather, on his own behalf and that of Ciarán Hayes, Chief Executive, wished to be associated with the congratulations and good wishes expressed to Councillor Henry and his family on his co-option. Mr. Kilfeather added that he had known Councillor Henry through his involvement in Scór, Scór na nÓg and G.A.A. where he had made a positive and polished contribution.

In reply, Councillor Henry said it was an honour for himself and his family to be coopted to the seat vacated by Deputy Eamon Scanlon, and said he is looking forward to the challenge of working with them for the betterment of Sligo.

Councillor Henry spoke of his family connection with the first Republican Council in 1920, and noted that the Centenary Celebrations provided an opportunity to reflect on the development of the State. He committed to doing his best to represent all of the people and had observed the growing desire of young people to engage in politics.

He noted that as a Teacher, 'every day is a school day' and in his capacity as a newly elected Councillor 'the Teacher becomes a student.'

## COMMUNITY AND VOLUNTARY GRANT SCHEME 2016:

#### It was proposed by Councillor H. Keaney Seconded by Councillor M. Baker

"To adopt the Community and Voluntary Grant Scheme".

Following a discussion on the recommendation of the sub-committee and noting that Councillor Bree dissented from the Committee's recommendation, a vote was called.

The vote resulted as follows:

#### MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF SLIGO COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY, 14TH MARCH, 2016 AT 11.00 A.M. IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RIVERSIDE, SLIGO

**FOR:** Councillor Baker, Councillor Casserly, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Gormley, Councillor Henry, Councillor Keaney, Councillor Lundy, Councillor Maguire, Councillor Mulvey, Councillor Queenan and Councillor Taylor (11)

**AGAINST:** Councillor Bree, Councillor Kilgannon, Councillor MacManus, Councillor MacSharry and Councillor O'Boyle (5)

**ABSENT:** Councillor Healy and Councillor O'Grady.

The Leas-Cathaoirleach deemed the motion carried.

## END OF MEETING:

The meeting ended at 11.50 a.m.