Community Call launched

COVID-19: Ireland launches “The Community Call” in major nationwide volunteering effort

COVID-19:  Ireland launches “The Community Call” in major nationwide volunteering effort

The Community Call, a major initiative that links local and national government with the community and voluntary sectors, was announced today by Government.

The Community Call is an unprecedented mobilisation of both state and voluntary resources to combat the effects of Covid-19.

The purpose of the Community Call is to coordinate community activity, direct community assistance to where it is needed, and marshal the volunteering energy of the country.

The immediate focus is on the elderly and the most vulnerable, and mobilising rapid response in every country to make sure everyone is looked after. In the coming weeks the focus will expand to broader the wellbeing of our society and how communities can work together to help the country through the Covid-19 crisis. 

The Community call was announced today by the Tánaiste Simon Coveney TD, the Minister for Rural and Community Development Michael Ring TD, the Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform John Paul Phelan TD, and the Chief Executive of Fingal County Council, AnnMarie Farrelly who represented the Local Authortities. Speaking at the launch this morning, An Tánaiste Simon Coveney TD said:

“We are all finding it very strange to be home and to be keeping away from our family and community. But those that are vulnerable or in need of a bit of help need to know that they are not alone. The government is tapping into the reach of our local authorities in every corner of Ireland as well as the extraordinary dedication of a legion of voluntary groups and charities. For those who need some help, it is there for you.”

Speaking at today’s event, Mr Michael Ring TD, Minister for Rural and Community Development, praised the outstanding contribution of the community and voluntary sector to the national effort to address the effects of the COVID-19 crisis. 

“Since the very start of this emergency, the community and voluntary sector has been working on the ground and also at national level with my Department, to prepare for the Community Response which we are outlining today.  One of our greatest assets in this country is the strength of our local, community and voluntary networks”, the Minister said. 

“We are now asking that those networks – formal and informal – be mobilised so that everyone in our communities can look after each other.  If your neighbours or relatives are required to stay at home – check with them to see if they need supports.  And if you are in that category yourself, don’t hesitate to ask for help - whether it’s with shopping, fuel delivery, collecting medicines or any other necessities of daily life.  The Local Authority helpline is there as a safety net, to ensure that everyone is looked after.”

For more information, go to

At National level, Community Call will be overseen by a group from the Department of An Taoiseach, the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, the Department of Rural and Community Development, the Department of Health, and the County and City Management Association.

The Community Call will be overseen and managed locally by our Local Authorities, led by the county Chief Executives.  The CEOs, the most senior public official in every county, have been tasked with making this work, and are leading a dedicated community Forum in each county to coordinate and connect the wide range of services and supports that area available.  The forum involves an extensive list of state and voluntary organisations.  A dedicated phone line is now operational in every county, details at and the national number 0818 222 024 is also now in operation.

The following is the list of each local authority’s helpline phone numbers.

Local AuthorityContact NumberEmail Adress
Carlow County Council  1800 814 300 
Cavan County Council    1800 300 404 
Clare County Council      1890 252 943 
Cork City Council  1800 222 226 
Cork County Council       1800 805 819 
Donegal County Council               1800 928 982 
Dublin City Council         01 222 8555 
Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council             01 271 3199 
Fingal County Council    01 890 5000 
Galway City Council          1800 400 150 
Galway County Council    1800 928 894 and 091 509 390 
Kerry County Council       1800 807 009 
Kildare County Council     045 980 202 
Kilkenny County Council                1800 500 000 
Laois County Council        1800 832 010 
Leitrim County Council    071 965 0473 
Limerick City & County Council     1800 832 005 
Longford County Council               043 334 4255 
Louth County Council       1800 805 817 
Mayo County Council       094 906 4660 
Meath County Council     1800 808 809 
Monaghan County Council            1800 804 158 
Offaly County Council      1800 818 181 
Roscommon County Council         1800 200 727 
Sligo County Council         1800 292 765 
South Dublin County Council        01 414 9043 
Tipperary County Council              076 106 5000 
Waterford City and County Council           1800 250 185 
Westmeath County Council        1800 805 816 
Wexford County Council              053 919 6000 
Wicklow County Council              1800 868 399