Councillor Thomas Walsh elected Chair of Sligo-Drumcliff Municipal District

CllrTWalshSligoDrumcliffMD Photo 1
CllrTWalshSligoDrumcliffMD Photo 2

Councillor Thomas Walsh has been elected Chair of Sligo-Drumcliff Municipal District at its AGM on Friday 19th June. Councillor Walsh was proposed by Councillor Casserly seconded by Councillor Fox, and unanimously elected. Councillor Tom Fox was elected Leas Cathaoirleach

Outgoing Chair Cllr Tom Fox convened a minute’s silence at the start of the meeting as a mark of respect to the late Garda Detective Colm Horkan.

In his address, Councillor Walsh thanked ‘the essential workers who kept us safe and well during the past three months and also to all those in our communities across our municipal area who have helped fight the recent virus and comply with the recent regulations. We all played our part in ensuring Sligo is the best performing county in country in eliminating new infection cases.

I sincerely do hope that there is a new focus towards rural Ireland and that we are positively prioritised towards and see a real strategy for balanced regional development in the new Government. One regional item I want to specifically mention is the development and modernisation of our University Hospital which I think we all agree needs investment.

It’s an exciting time for our county. We have so many capital projects ongoing and many soon to begin including the N4, Western Distributor, O Connell Street revamp, N4/N15 Sligo Urban Improvement Scheme, Stephen Street Cultural Plaza, the Eastern Garavogue Bridge and the development and upgrade of the L and K block at Institute of Technology, Sligo.

I want to give a special mention to one sector which I believe we owe so much too in our county. We have about 400 community groups made up of volunteers from tidy towns, to defibrillator groups, to development groups to sports clubs. The unsung heroes; Those volunteers in each village, in each community whom give hours of their time on a voluntary basis to do so much positive work in their communities. To them I say ‘thank you.’


Sligo County Council