Sligo Hurlers honoured by Cathaoirleach and Mayor

Sligo Hurlers honoured by Cathaoirleach and Mayor

Sligo Hurlers honoured by Cathaoirleach and Mayor - A special presentation was made by Cathaoirleach Tom MacSharry and Mayor Gino O’Boyle to Peter Galvin

There was a large attendance in Sligo City Hall on Friday evening as Sligo County Council honoured the Sligo Hurling Team on being crowned Nicky Rackard Champions for 2019.

The reception was hosted by Cathaoirleach Councillor Tom MacSharry and Mayor Councillor Gino O’Boyle, and the attendance included elected members and the Sligo Hurling squad and management and coaching staff.

In his address the Cathaoirleach said

'Winning the Lory Meagher Cup in 2018 was a remarkable achievement by a special group of players.  To follow that up with a second successive national title speaks volumes for the character and ambition of every single person associated with this squad.  The last two years have generated significant milestones in the history of Sligo Hurling, and that will provide the inspiration for other young players to follow in their footsteps.'

Mayor Councillor Gino O’Boyle said

 'It was a rare and special occasion for Sligo County Council to host a joint reception, but the nature of this achievement warranted special acknowledgement.  Sligo people have a special regard for their sporting heroes across all fields of endeavour, but the remarkable journey of the Sligo Hurling Team captured the public imagination and will live long on the memory.'

Selector Peter Galvin spoke on behalf of the squad, and he commended the efforts and desire of a committed group of players who spared no effort over the course of the campaign.

'Through the work of dedicated volunteers all over the county, the sport of hurling is gaining a strong foot-hold, and this latest success will provide great impetus for future development.'