Cathaoirleachs Awards

Honouring Our Volunteers - Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2019 Launched

The Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2019 have been launched and nomination forms are now available. The initiative acknowledges the contribution of the many unsung heroes who carry out invaluable voluntary work in our communities.

The Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council Councillor Tom MacSharry said

‘We all know special people who have given special service to their community, and the Awards Scheme provides an opportunity to publicly honour them for their efforts.  The award categories encompass a wide area of voluntary activity, and I am asking people to take the time to submit a nomination form for a person or group they hold in special regard.’

It is encouraging to see so many people giving selflessly of their time and energy for their community, and as a society we should never take this for granted.  It is important that we honour and applaud our many dedicated volunteers.’

The Award categories are:

  • Arts & Culture
  • Young Enterprise,
  • Environment and Heritage
  • Community (individual)
  • Community (group)
  • Sports
  • Schools (group/class)
  • Spirit of Sligo

The category winners will be presented with their awards at a ceremony in County Hall in December.    

Joining the Cathaoirleach Councillor MacSharry on the Awards Committee are Councillors Rosaleen O’Grady, Thomas Walsh, Gino O’Boyle, Chris MacManus, Declan Bree, Marie Casserly and Joe Queenan.

Nomination forms and details of the scheme are available from:

Corporate Services Section,  Sligo County Council, Riverside, Sligo, phone 071 9111111.

or can be downloaded from below.

Nomination forms can be emailed to:  

The closing date for receipt of nominations is Thursday 21st November 2019

Nomination Form 2019 (PDF) - 383 kbs  PDF
Nomination Form 2019 (DOC) - 275 kbs  WORD