Cathaoirleach Awards - Last Chance for Nominations

Last Chance to Nominate Special Volunteers for Award

The closing date is fast approaching for submitting nominations for the Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2017, an initiative which acknowledges the contribution of the many unsung heroes who carry out invaluable voluntary work in our communities.

The Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council Councillor Seamus Kilgannon said ‘The award categories encompass a wide area of voluntary activity, and I feel that there are many people throughout county Sligo who are fully deserving of an award. It is encouraging to see so many people giving selflessly of their time and energy for their community, and as a society we should never take this for granted. Especially in the year when Sligo has the mantle of ‘European Capital of Volunteering’, it is important that the honour and applaud our many dedicated volunteers.’

The Award categories are:

  • Arts & Culture
  • Young Enterprise,
  • Environment and Heritage
  • Community (individual)
  • Community (Group)
  • Sports
  • Schools
  • Spirit of Sligo

The category winners will be presented with their awards at a ceremony in County Hall in December.

Nomination forms and details of the scheme are available from:

Corporate Services Section, Sligo County Council, Riverside, Sligo, phone 071 911 1016. Nomination forms can be accessed on Sligo County Council’s website at, and can also be emailed to:

The closing date for receipt of nominations is Wednesday 29th November 2017.

Members of the awards Committee:

Councillor Seamus Kilgannon (Cathaoirleach), Councillor Declan Bree, Councillor Hubert Keaney, Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady, Councillor Chris MacManus, Councillor Dara Mulvey, Councillor Gino O’Boyle.


Corporate Services
Sligo County Council