Honouring our volunteers - Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2018 launched

The Cathaoirleach’s Awards 2018 have been launched and nomination forms are now available. The initiative acknowledges the contribution of the many unsung heroes who carry out invaluable voluntary work in our communities.

The Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council Councillor Martin Baker said

‘We all know special people who have given special service to their community, and the Awards Scheme provides an opportunity to publicly honour them for their efforts.  The award categories encompass a wide area of voluntary activity, and I am asking people to take the time to submit a nomination form for a person or group they hold in special regard.’

It is encouraging to see so many people giving selflessly of their time and energy for their community, and as a society we should never take this for granted. It is important that we honour and applaud our many dedicated volunteers.’

The Award categories are:

  • Arts & Culture
  • Young Enterprise,
  • Environment and Heritage
  • Community (individual)
  • Community (Group)
  • Sports
  • Schools
  • Spirit of Sligo

The category winners will be presented with their awards at a ceremony in County Hall in December.    

Joining the Cathaoirleach Councillor Baker on the Awards Committee are Councillors Declan Bree, Hubert Keaney, Seamus Kilgannon, Chris MacManus, Dara Mulvey, Gino O’ Boyle and Rosaleen O'Grady. 

Nomination forms and details of the scheme are available from:

Corporate Services Section,  Sligo County Council, Riverside, Sligo, phone 071 9111111.

or can be downloaded from below.

Nomination forms can be emailed to:  corporate@sligococo.ie  

The closing date for receipt of nominations is Wednesday 21st November 2018. 

Nomination Form 2018 (PDF) - 190 kbs  PDF
Nomination Form 2018 (DOC) - 275 kbs  WORD